Interesting Facts About the Ghana Premier League

Video: Ghana Premier League MW 9 Review

As the 2016/2017 Ghana Premier League (GPL) is scheduled for kick-off tomorrow, below are some interesting facts about the league since its inception.

1.The 2016-17 season of the Ghana league will be the 56th edition since the competition started in 1958 but it will be the 23rd edition since the inception of Ghana Premier League on 19th December, 1993.

2 Since the competition started, 91 New Clubs have featured and if the two new promoted Clubs Bolga All Stars and Elmina Sharks kick off on 12th Feb. 2016, it will be 93 Clubs since 1958.

3 Only eleven (11) New Clubs have won the title so far with Asante Kotoko been the most successful club with 23, followed by Hearts of Oak (19), AshantiGold (4), Great Olympics (2), Sekondi Eleven Wise (1), Real Republikans (1), Cape Coast Dwarfs (1) Sekondi Hasaacas (1) Dormaa Aduana Stars (1), Berekum Chelsea (1) and Wa All Stars (1).

4. Berekum Chelsea is the 10th new club to win the title while Wa All Stars is the 11th and last new club so far to win the title.

5. Bolga All Stars a team based in the Upper East region will be the first Club from the region to participate in the Ghana top-flight league since the competition started in 1958 and the Upper region was divided into Upper East and Upper West regions in 1982 under the PNDC government Flt. Lt. (Rtd) Jerry John Rawlings.

6. Accra Hearts of Oak and Kumasi Asante Kotoko are the only Clubs yet to be relegated since the competition started but Hearts of Oak is the ONLY Club to have participated in every season that the competition has been played since it’s inception in 1958.

7.Asante Kotoko pulled out of the 1967 season. It was knockout bases and Ebusua Dwarfs won the tournament through toss of coin, after drawing 1-1 on two occasions with Sekondi Eleven Wise in the final.

8. In-terms of appearance, Hearts of Oak (55), Asante Kotoko (54), Great Olympics (49), Ebusua Dwarfs (36), AshantiGold (Goldfields) [29], Liberty Professionals (17), Medeama (Kessben) [9], Wa All Stars (9), Berekum Chelsea (8), Aduana Stars (7), WAFA (Feyenoord) [5], Tema Youth (5), Bechem United (4), Inter-Allies (3), Elmina Sharks and Bolga All Stars yet to have their debut in the competition.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here